11.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, with Present Areas, Dates of Admission to Confederation, and Legislative Process by which Admission was Effected

Province, Territory or District	Date of Admission or Creation	Legislative Process	Present Area (square miles)		
			Land	Fresh Water	Total
Ontario	July 1, 1867 July 1, 1867	Act of Imperial Parliament — The British North America Act, 1867 (30-31 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial Order in Council of May 22, 1867. Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23,	363,282 523,860 20,743 27,473	49,300 71,000 325 512	412,582 ¹ 594,860 ² 21,068 27,985
British Columbia P. E. Island Yukon	July 1, 1873 June 13, 1898	1870. Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871 Inperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873 Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61 Vict., c. 6). Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII,	219,723 359,279 2,184 205,346	26,789 6,976 1,730	246,512 ³ 366,255 2,184 207,076
Alberta Mackenzie Keewatin Franklin Newfoundland	Sept. 1, 1905 Jan. 1, 1920 Jan. 1, 1920	Alberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3) Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918 Act to approve the Terms of Union of	237,975 248,800 493,225 218,460 541,753	13,725 6,485 34,265 9,700 7,500	251,700 ⁴ 255,285 ⁴ 527,490 ⁵ 228,160 ⁵ 549,253 ⁵
		Newfoundland with Canada, 1949 (13 Geo. VI, c. 1)	37,013 6 3,499,116	5,721 ⁶ 234,028	154,734 ⁷ 3,845,144

¹ The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V. c. 40).

² Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V. c. 45), and diminished in consequence of the Award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council (Mar. 1, 1927), whereby some 112,000 square miles of territory, formerly considered as part of Quebec, were assigned to Newfoundland.

³ Extended by Extension of Boundaries of Manitoba Act, 1881, and Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 32).

4 Alberta and Saskatchewan now cover approximately the area formerly comprised in the districts of Assiniboia, Athabaska, Alberta and Saskatchewan, established May 17, 1882, by minute of Canadian P.C., concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895.

¹ By Order in Council, June 23, 1870, Rupert's Land, acquired under the Rupert's Land Acts of 1867 and 1868, and the undefined Northern Territories were admitted into the Confederation. The original Northwest Territories, mentioned in the Manitoba Act, 1870, were established by the Northwest Territories Act, 1880 (43 Vict., c. 25), the District of Keewatin having been previously defined by an Act of the Dominion Parliament (39 Vict., c. 21). The provisional Districts of Yukon, Mackenzie, Franklin and Ungava were defined in an Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895, their boundaries being changed by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. By Order in Council of July 24, 1905, the area of Keewatin, not included in the Northwest Territories, was annexed to the latter from Sept. 1, 1905. By the Extension of Boundaries Act, 1912, Ungava was made a part of the Province of Quebec, and the remaining area of the Northwest Territories south of 60° N. latitude was divided between Manitoba and Ontario.

¹ Island of Newfoundland only.

¹ Includes Coast of Labrador.

The source of the powers of the Provincial Governments of Canada is the British North America Act, 1867 (30-31 Vict., c. 3 and amendments). Sect. 92 of the Act, the Legislature of each province may make laws exclusively in relation to the following matters: amendment of the constitution of the province except as regards the Lieutenant-Governor; direct taxation within the province; borrowing of money on the credit of the province; establishment and tenure of provincial offices and appointment and payment of provincial officers; the management and sale of public lands belonging to the province and of the timber and wood thereon; the establishment, maintenance and management of public and reformatory prisons in and for the province; the establishment, maintenance and management of hospitals, asylums, charities and eleemosynary institutions in and for the province, other than marine hospitals; municipal institutions in the province; shop, saloon, tavern, auctioneer and other licences issued for the raising of provincial or municipal revenue; local works and undertakings other than interprovincial or international lines of ships, railways, canals, telegraphs, etc., or works which, though wholly situated within one province, are declared by the Federal Parliament to be for the general advantage either of Canada or of two or more provinces; the